Dr. C.A. Ighodaro

Head of Department
Dr. C.A. Ighodaro


The Department was established in September, 1975 as a sub-section of the Department of Economics and Business Studies. It became autonomous and full-fledged in July 1977 as the Department of Economics, and in 1978, produced its first set of graduates.  The Department became known as the department of Economics & Statistics and in the 2017/2018 academic section changed its status to the department of Economics. The Department is one of the few Universities in Africa running the Collaborative PhD Programme (CPP) in Economics with the Africa Economic Research Consortium (AERC), Kenya. The Department is also involved in Postgraduate Diploma (PGD), M.Sc and PhD in Reproductive Health Economics under the Centre for Reproductive Health and Innovation (CERHI), University of Benin. The Department also has a vibrant Nigeria Economics Students’ Association (NESA).


The aims of the Department of Economics are to offer sound educational preparation in Economics to all students enrolled in this area and to give them a firm foundation for effective participation in the society in general and in Nigeria, in particular as Economists, Bankers, Financiers, Administrators Management Executives and Allied Professionals. To this end, the Department offers academic programmes leading to the award of B.Sc. and M.Sc. Degrees in Economics and Ph.D. Degree in Economics.


Enrolment in the Department has continued to grow especially at the 100 and 200 levels.  The trend is likely to continue in the future, particularly because of the expanding services provided by this Department to other Departments within and outside the Faculty of Social Sciences. A good number of students are enrolled in the Department’s Postgraduate Programmes.



(A)       Four Year B.Sc. Programme in Economics


West African School/SSCE Certificate (WASC) with Credit Passes in at least five subjects which should include English Language and Mathematics, Economics and an additional social science subject obtained in not more than two sittings) or equivalent Credit Passes in the General Certificate of Education at the Ordinary Level (also obtained in not more than two sittings).  As well as there are no waivers for credit passes in English Language and Mathematics.  National Examination Council (NECO), National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB).


The required Joint Matriculation Examination Subjects are:

English Language, Mathematics, Economics Plus any other subject; preferably in the Social Sciences.


(B)       Three Year B.Sc. Programme:

Requirements in A (a) above plus two or more subjects in the General  Certificate of Education at the Advanced level or the Higher School Certificate, one of the subjects must be Economics.